Happy New Year. Like most everyone else, Optical Seminars is glad to see 2020 in the rearview mirror.
We are moving ahead with our 2021 schedule and are still insisting on safe practices when we present a seminar. For example, all attendees are required to wear masks, we practice social distancing whenever possible, make hand sanitizers readily available, ask screening questions, and take everyone's temperature. I want to thank everyone who attended seminars in 2020 for their respect and consideration following these guidelines. Hopefully by the end of this year they will be unnecessary.
Renewal Dates. In late December, The Florida Surgeon General extended our renewal date to March 31, 2021.
Board Meeting. The Board of Opticianry will hold its next meeting via teleconference on Friday, January 15, 2021 at 12:15 pm. I will be in “attendance” and you can be too. Simply call in a few minutes before the meeting begins at 877-309-2073, and when prompted, enter meeting code 811-704-693. (Update: Nothing of any substance was discussed at the meeting.)
2021-2022 Schedule of Live Seminars. Our entire year’s schedule is posted at our website (www.opticalseminars.com). Hope to see you at a live event. In the “smaller” cities, the way it works is we do one seminar each year – with no repeats from the year before. So, for example, if you attend this year in Sarasota, and then again next year in Sarasota, you will have all the necessary hours you need to renew your license. Attend a weekend seminar in Tampa, Ft. Lauderdale, or Orlando and you’ll have all necessary hours.
Initial Hours for Licensure. There are two courses that are needed for people getting their licenses for the first time: Initial Laws and Rules, and the Hands-On Adjustment Class. Apprentices are also required to take an Apprentice Orientation course in the first year of their apprenticeship. Optical Seminars offers these classes on-demand! For the Initial Laws and Rules and the Apprentice Orientation course, you may take them as home-study courses and do them immediately, on-demand. The Hands-On Adjustment class is offered at all live events. The price for these courses is $20 each. We also offer a live, one-on-one version of the Initial Laws and Hands-On Adjustment class by appointment in Hudson, Florida. The price for that session is $50. Call 352-848-4222 to make an appointment or if you have any questions.
Home-Study Courses. As most of you know, we are normally restricted to a maximum of five out-of-classroom hours for our continuing education. Due to COVID-19, in March I requested that the Board waive this limit so that all who felt it necessary to take hours at home could take all of them out-of-classroom for this one biennium. Without going into details or harping on the disappointment I had with the position that some Board members took, finally on July 24th it was decided to allow that all hours could be out of classroom for this one biennium.
Remember, you may not repeat any continuing education class in the same biennium. However, you MAY repeat a continuing education class that you took in a previous biennium. What that means is that you may retake a course and resubmit answers for an out-of-classroom course you took in 2020 right now. These hours would then be applied to your renewal in December 2022. Of course, right now you are limited to five hours out of classroom for this renewal period.
New Classroom Courses. As of January 2021, we have more than 220 unique continuing education hours available! While I cannot say for sure, I think that is more than any other Florida education provider offers. Still, we are always trying to add new courses and whenever possible, new speakers. For this biennium, while I will be teaching most of the classes myself, I am proud that we will also have classes presented by Dr. Linda Paey, Karen Hunt, and John Zimmerman.
New courses include:
- A more comprehensive look at the art of refraction (Technical)
- Toy Box Opticianry (Technical) – You’re going to like this one!
- OHIO – Occupational Hygiene in Opticianry (Technical)
- Misconceptions of Blue Light Harms (Technical)
- An all-new course/approach on Florida Laws and Rules (required)
- An all-new course/approach on Medical Errors (required)
Four-Year Membership. As always, we still offer a four-year membership for only $239. That’s less than $6 per credit hour and allows you to attend seminars anywhere in the state or take any home-study courses – all for no additional fee. If you have any questions, give me a call at 352-848-4222 or go to the website to sign up.